Skip to content

April 10, 2012

Catch Up Blog

by chesterawktopus

So I have been ridiculously behind on these blog posts, my apologies, but hopefully this makes up for it.

Let’s start with project 7: Shark Tank. Dun-nun. Dun-nun. Dun-nun dun-nun dun-nun DUNUNUNUN!!!!!

Look at these lovely sketches:

Tien Tran (Aoi Yamaguchi Group)

Jonathan Fuentes (Poubelle Twins Group)

Tyler Erkelens (Vanessa Bonet Group)

Disco Uvula

In case you can’t read that, it says disco uvula (the original idea was to do a giant clown head hehehehe)

Week 8! The project itself….now that I’m seeing the final projects getting finished up, and we’re presenting this coming Thursday. However, as they started out, they didn’t look as great as they do now, due to some technical difficulties…

Poubelle Twins

Vanessa Bonet

Aoi Yamaguchi

And as I mentioned, there were some technical troubles. Not everyone is great with Secondlife (like myself) and the building for the VRAG can be incredibly difficult. Many have this problem, but despite this, my students continue to make me proud every week by their honest attempts at working this virtual world. Everyone, meet Alix Ogawa:

And lastly, our most recent project GRAFFITI WRITING!!!! Many have said, past and present, that this is their favorite project. It gives a chance to explore an art form that we normally don’t consider anything but a nuisance and experience it ourselves. Venice beach is an incredibly diverse, strange, and wonderful place. I mean, where else can you see a man in a turban serenading a girl while playing the electric guitar on rollerblades? Spray painting can be tons of fun and is something that even the TAs enjoy even after they’ve done the project already. I did some myself, see?

Here are my favorite student graffiti bombs:

Tyler Erkelens, Maddie Champagne, Timothy Driscoll

A collaboration by Tyler Erkelens, Timothy Driscoll, and Maddie Champagne. Memes, gotta love ’em.

Stephen Lopez

and of course, Sonic the Hedgehog:

Sonic the Hedgehog

Anthony Ghannam

And so, I have caught myself up with these blogs. I’m looking forward to this week and our presentations, as well as our video projects due this Sunday. Go forth my students and be creative!

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

